• 22 Replies

infurl

• Administrator
  • Eve
  • Humans will disappoint you.
    • Home Page
GLR Parser
« on: July 27, 2011, 01:11:57 pm »
Well I'm happy to announce that I spent all day today using the GLR Parser software that I've been developing for the last four years, and for the first time, I didn't find any more bugs to fix! I've already developed a grammar definition for the grammar definitions that my parser uses so I will be able to make it "self-homed" i.e. able to parse itself.

More ambitious but nearly finished and debugged is a grammar definition for the Typed Feature Structure language used by the massive English Resource Grammar. I've already tested it extensively on the full lexicon version of the ERG. It takes my 4 CPU work station a whole ten seconds to translate the entire thing into more than 3 million lines of XML. With a fair bit more effort I should be able to use the ERG directly as the input to my parser library, thus producing a high performance parser for the entire English language. That will probably only take another four years to do.  :)

However today I've been developing a grammar for splitting English prose into sentences. Still a couple of minor problems left to resolve but it only seems to be taking a few dozen rules to do it, and it is already able to handle all the complexities of punctuation and nested quotations. I guess the best way to celebrate will be to keep on working on it, eh.

Freddy

• Administrator
  • Colossus
  • Mostly Harmless
Re: GLR Parser
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2011, 02:38:28 pm »
Congratulations  :)

10 seconds to make 3 million lines of XML...hmm...that sounds really fast to me  :o

mendicott

• Bumblebee
    • Meta-Guide.com
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2011, 04:06:01 pm »