A Little Hackintosh Based Home Presence

• 12 Replies

190EAMG

• Roomba
A Little Hackintosh Based Home Presence
« on: February 08, 2013, 05:03:21 am »
Hi all,

My name is Sean, I'm a pilot and flight safety analyst, and someone with huge technolust! - Yes, I'm a Hak5 fan! ;) - While flying is my passion, I have always had a strong interest and truly second passion in engineering, computers and robotics.  I happened to stumble upon this site during my explorations of AppleScript coding and found some truely inspiring ideas.  So now that my project is beginning to mature (actual daily use), I thought it was about time I join up!

About 5 months ago I moved into a fabulous apartment in the heart of Downtown Montreal and in setting up my ideal home media center, it has begun to expand into my passions.  I have in the last month been extending its influence throughout the rest of my apartment, linking it into the lighting, the HVAC and whole apartment sound system.  While certainly people can achieve a lot of this now-a-days simply by opening their wallets, I'm on a rather tight budget being a fledgling pilot, so I have been doing as much as I can through my own ingenuity and over the counter parts.