Pattern based NLP for games

• 3 Replies

MikeB

• Roomba
Pattern based NLP for games
« on: May 24, 2020, 12:16:50 PM »
This is a project I've been working on for a few years. In 2019 I was testing out the theory on Pandora Bots, and this year I'm converting it to plain C.

The main goal is to be as small as possible, be solid-state (no guessing algorithms, learning, knowledge calculation), be as fast as possible, multi-language, and to handle the space for NPCs/chatbots between predetermined goal responses and not saying anything at all...

It converts pattern-matched singular words into a grouped/compressed word (symbol). These are then pattern matched in sentences, which are then assigned an intention, then finally assigned a fixed response with randomisation (IE. multiple "hellos" etc).

It's almost standard for a pattern match chatbot (apart from being 3-4 stage) but instead of 10,000 fixed responses and patterns, there are only approx 100 fixed patterns per stage but they all compress before the next stage, so it can handle the same amount of language and relevant responses overall...

The size and speed in pandora bots (1000 individual words with sentences) is ~500kb, and 1 to 2 seconds response time. In Plain C (on an Arm Cortex M4 @ 120mhz) it is ~159kb and 15-100 milliseconds (compiled statically). After the incoming text are all compressed/converted to symbols, the debug information and chatbot response actually takes less than a millisecond.

These are some key features, that make it ideal for games instead of full algorithm AI or massive pattern-matching AI...
-Less than 500kb including word databases.
-Extremely fast.
-100 max fixed full sentence responses (easy to change personality, and/or record in audio)
-Non-essential private information automatically stripped during compression (does not match up names of places/things), and cannot be seen in debug information.