Using switches that are created with Figure Maker on a People Putty avatar

• 4 Replies

Tessa

Hello everyone!
I am new on this forum and first of all I would like to say that many of your past posts and tutorials have provided very useful information for me, thanks a lot! I am a student working on a research project and I have encountered a problem with my Haptek avatar for which I cannot find the answer.

The problem is that I want to use switches that are not among the standard Haptek switches and have been created with Figure Maker in the past. I can only create my avatar with People Putty (since I don't have the Figure Maker tool), which (if I am correct) creates the figure definition file for my avatar while only allowing the standard switches.

Is there a way to alter or manipulate the figure definition file of an avatar without using Figure maker?

Thanks in advance!

Maviarab

• Trusty Member
  • Millennium Man
  • What are you doing Dave?
    • The Celluloid Sage
Welcome along Tessa and glad you found some useful information within our hallowed pages :)

Can't help you myself as I was more in graphical work but sure one of our other members can sort you out on this who have more experience with Haptek :)

Freddy

• Administrator
  • Colossus
  • Mostly Harmless
Hi Tessa and welcome.

You can play with a Figure Defintion file directly in the hap_temp folder.  Say you have a Haptek head running and it has dumped all of it's associated files into the hap_temp folder - from there you can copy the figure defintion file and ammend it how you like.  Then you can overwrite the original file and reload your character by using whatever 'start-up' (hap) file that comes with it, which should also be found in hap_temp.  This makes the Haptek figure use your altered files instead and should also make any switches you put in available.