Attempting Hydraulics

• 4 Replies

WriterOfMinds

• Trusty Member
  • Replicant
    • WriterOfMinds Blog
Attempting Hydraulics
« on: October 10, 2023, 09:24:23 pm »
I made a little home-built hydraulics system and did a writeup on it. It is NOT very capable yet, but it's a bare bones demo with my rather jury-rigged choice of parts.

https://writerofminds.blogspot.com/2023/10/poor-persons-first-hydraulic-system.html

HS

• Trusty Member
  • Millennium Man
Re: Attempting Hydraulics
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2023, 01:16:09 am »
Could you print an entire hydraulic pump mechanism? At first glance, some types seem like they could work - I've got no experience with hydraulics, but some kind of tall gear pump would be my best bet from what I've seen so far.

WriterOfMinds

• Trusty Member
  • Replicant
    • WriterOfMinds Blog
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2023, 04:13:03 pm »
Yeah, that or a peristaltic pump might get rid of the friction issues from using the syringe, possibly. They also would not need the check valves.

WriterOfMinds

• Trusty Member
  • Replicant
    • WriterOfMinds Blog
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2024, 08:54:11 pm »
I've been working on this in the last few months and finally have a writeup of the updates! https://writerofminds.blogspot.com/2024/08/hydraulics-ii-pressure-is-on.html Click through to the blog for a video.

The quick version is that I did replace the syringe pump with a peristaltic pump (designed and made by me) and the "cylinder" actuator (also a syringe) with an inflatable bladder. This achieved more reasonable performance, and I'm looking forward to finding ways to do real work with this now. The bladder is made from heat-sealed plastic bags with a 3d-printed valve stem glued in. I'll be able to custom-make them in any size and shape I need at very little expense.

MagnusWootton

• Replicant
« Reply #4 on: August 19, 2024, 04:03:23 am »
Really impressive work, and u just helped me countless amounts!  thank you.