Mohan Embar Interview - 2012 Loebner Prize Winner with Chip Vivant

Mohan Embar Interview - 2012 Loebner Prize Winner with Chip Vivant

Here we are pleased to present an interview with Mohan Embar the winner of this year's prize with his chat bot Chip Vivant. Congratulations to Mohan on behalf of all the members here at AiDreams. And without further ado...

How did it feel to win the prize?

It felt wonderful, obviously. Although the first time I entered was in 2008, I had been dreaming about writing a chatbot since 2000 or so and actually had an interest in chatbots since my childhood. The win was all-the-more meaningful because I won on my terms. I'll touch more on this later.

How long did Chip Vivant take to develop?

With the exception of a six-month period in late 2007 / early 2008, it's been in fits and spurts. Probably a few weeks part time before each competition.

What makes your bot different from the rest?

Like I say here:

http://www.chipvivant.com/2012/05/15/chip-vivant-wins-the-2012-loebner-prize-competition/

"...the thing that pleased me the most is that I won on my terms, without a fake backstory, fake typing errors and a preponderance of canned responses."

That's also the reason I feel so thrilled about this win. As described further on that page, on the day of the win, I shared this message with my friends at Robitron and chatbots.org:

People - I'm still in shock with what just happened here. One of my main criticisms of this contest is that despite Hugh's vision, the judges' slavish interpretation of the contest rules favored fake backstories, canned responses and other trickery over real effort.

Well, Chip won:

• without spelling mistakes or fake backspaces to correct fake errors
  • despite saying stuff like "I didn't understand what you just said" and "I can't deal with that syntactic variant yet - instead of "Jim likes peaches?", use "Does Jim like peaches?"