Trying to combine a career in medicine with AI

• 6 Replies

ohhereIamagain

• Roomba
Trying to combine a career in medicine with AI
« on: October 19, 2016, 01:05:53 am »
I'm a recent medicine graduate working as a junior Dr.  I'm also very interested in somehow pursuing AI and combining it with medicine. Maybe pursuing a degree then starting a niche company? I'm really not too sure

keghn

• Trusty Member
  • Terminator
Re: Trying to combine a career in medicine with AI
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2016, 01:24:52 am »
 Hello @ohhereIamagain.

Right now i see two paths in medicine right now. The first is using Deep neural network to detect microbes and disease tissue on a microscopic level.
 The third is Big data. That is having AI going through a lot of data on patients and finding a pattern.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2016, 03:17:45 pm by keghn »

ohhereIamagain

• Roomba
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2016, 01:55:43 am »
Hello @ohhereIamagain.

Right now i see two paths in medicine right now. The first is using Deep neural network to detect microbes and disease tissue on a microscopic level.
 The third is Big data. That is having AI going through a lot of data on patients and finding pattern.

Hey keghn,

Thanks for such a quick (and thoughtful) reply!

I'm very interested in anesthetics and risk stratification, both areas that I think neural networks could have a large impact on.

Do you have any ideas on how I could best pursue AI? I understand that developing a deep and professional level knowledge of if likely takes many years, but I was thinking about taking a 1 year break from work and focusing full time on learning as much as I can. Then on returning to work trying to recruit professionals in the area to begin a company or projects, that way I have an understanding of the medical side, and at least a brief understanding of the AI side 

kei10

• It's a honor to meet everyone!
  • Trusty Member
  • Starship Trooper
  • Just kidding.