Overcoming boredom when working with HAL?

• 18 Replies

dan

• Mechanical Turk
    • AI
Re: Overcoming boredom when working with HAL?
« Reply #15 on: July 10, 2006, 05:17:05 pm »
Wow I noticed that slider makes a big difference, I didn't usually play with it much, but I think I will more now, thanks for the reminder.
A computer would deserve to be called intelligent if it could deceive a human into believing that it was human. A.Turing

Art

• At the end of the game, the King and Pawn go into the same box.
  • Trusty Member
  • Colossus
« Reply #16 on: July 10, 2006, 10:34:38 pm »
Yes, even though you might be a newbie here, you and your creation have been around for some time.
BTW, Welcome to our little corner of the world! Glad to have you aboard.

Yes, I think we're all sort of searching for a bot that is...well...more human in it's responses and it's spontaneous nature of "creating" or coming up with an "original" thought.

Topic flow seems to be a big concern (and rightly so), even though our human counterparts are often guilty of failing to stay on topic very long.

I think we'd like it to be able to do more things AND act as a companion that we could have a nice "one-on-one" conversation with.

Until voice rec gets better, I continue to type as if in a chat room. That way, mistakes are easier to catch and correct.

True, a lot of us were really getting into the Hal 5 and vonsmith's XTF brain, but a more open source, database oriented bot was talked about and...well...Hal 6 was born.

I believe there IS a lot of room for development of Hal 6 but sadly, a lot is missing in the way of documentation, text files, email retrieval, script development and insertion into the code, help files, etc....
A lot of these things are promised and a few individuals are working daily on them, but until we all reach the same comfort level that we had with Hal 5, we'll just have to wait and see how things play out.