Hello

• 7 Replies

mikerees

• Roomba
Hello
« on: June 27, 2011, 01:36:56 pm »
Hey!

I'm Mike, I'm a student at De Montfort University in Leicester, UK studying Artificial Intelligence with Robotics. I've joined up because I'm about to head into my final year, and I'm looking for a lot of comments, suggestions and information regarding my final year project - what I plan on doing is OCR for handwriting recognition, using neural networks. While I'm very interested in the subject of AI, the first year of my course was a generic csci one, and the second was really just a brief overview of the concepts with a little implementation of fuzzy inferencing systems.

My interests largely focus on human computer interfacing, in all its feasible forms - gesture recognition, facial recognition, OCR, BCI etc... though due to the nature of my course I've also gained an interest in robotics, but I'm a terrible engineer so I'd rather program for something someone else has built than build my own.

I don't have a bot... I'm not really that interested in that sort of stuff. AIML doesn't particularly strike me as actually being artificial intelligence (in the same way that expert systems no longer are), and I don't have the inclination to code my own implementation.

Anyways, I hope to get involved with the conversations here and learn a lot!  ;D

Freddy

• Administrator
  • Colossus
  • Mostly Harmless
Re: Hello
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 02:00:07 pm »
Welcome to AiDreams Mike.  We are a friendly bunch and have some very knowledgeable people here. I think I will learn a lot from you from what you say.