home robots

• 9 Replies

zoraster

• Roomba
home robots
« on: October 08, 2017, 06:48:14 pm »
I haven't posted for a long time but I'm going to introduce myself again. I'm a disabled computer tech who would like to make a home robot with ai. I don't know much about ai so I guess I need to learn a bunch. I've played with Guile3d Denise but not really happy with it, and a couple of others.

ranch vermin

• Not much time left.
  • Terminator
  • Its nearly time!
Re: home robots
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2017, 08:39:48 am »
i have a similar dream.     id love to secure my house with ai, which may include a walking body,   ive been doing it for a while,. its a lot of work!

Freddy

• Administrator
  • Colossus
  • Mostly Harmless
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2017, 03:10:00 am »
Welcome back Zoraster :)

Since we started this site over a decade ago I've found one of the best ways to learn is to do some practical programming work. I don't know if this is possible for you but thought I would mention it.

Billdoor

• Roomba
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2017, 12:16:52 pm »
Hello.
Literary the ton of projects is at https://www.hackster.io/. All the imaginable and unimaginable things. And there're a lot of sites with the same topic.
You may try as well reverse-engineer robotic vacuum cleaners. I have this Idea for a long time myself. There're so many ways you can modify them and gain an amazing experience and knowledge in robotics, data-processing, image-recognition etc.  Just search for documentation for as much as possible models and develop a vision of way one engineered better or worse than another. Here full skope of currently successful models  http://tenrows.com/robot-vacuum/

Thierry

• Nomad
  • God is a sphere. Press 9 to enter.
« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2017, 07:23:35 pm »