New to learning AI, what would be the cost of hardware to build a general AI.

• 10 Replies

tempted

• Roomba
Hi,

I'm new to learning AI, what would be the cost of hardware to build a general AI. Is it something within the budget of an average person?

What are the prerequisites to get into AI?

Like what math and programming language one should be proficient in? And what kind of hardware would one need to have?

Thanks

LOCKSUIT

• Emerged from nothing
  • Trusty Member
  • Prometheus
  • First it wiggles, then it is rewarded.
    • Main Project Thread
AGI -

There is no say of if a home pc can run it. AGI can scale, hence, it can think on a home pc.

For example, you want AGI to tell you new plans of action or use a high tech microscope - all it takes is data....new data and old data.

You have to learn before you can change Earth. Hence no par de wonder it follows it comes from there.

Figure it out first, then worry. Don't start coding anything, just learn learn learn, and build a notepad up. Decompose, rebuild, form.
Emergent          https://openai.com/blog/

tempted

• Roomba
Hey, you didn't tell me about any programming language or math starting point.

What is the bare minimum for a general AI, will the hardware cost millions of dollars or few hundreds of dollars?

Almost all resources are suggesting Python, is there no way to get into AI without Python?

LOCKSUIT

• Emerged from nothing
  • Trusty Member
  • Prometheus
    • Main Project Thread
They do go python, out of all my article etc readings over 3 full years of research i never seen C++ tutorials lol. Coursea and Hinton the AI pioneer all uses python.....but do look on coursea to see if there's c or c++ maybe there is...

But it's harder and more time consuming to code in C++....thats why they go python for Machine Learning.

BUT C++ will be efficient for speed/mmem size, so do it once u know....once u got it ready.