"Stop. Lose all scripted responses. Improvisation only" :D

• 11 Replies

martinodb

• Roomba
"Stop. Lose all scripted responses. Improvisation only" :D
« on: March 02, 2019, 01:38:57 am »
Hello all!

I'm new to chatbots, but I've been interested in AI and related topics for a long time.  My main interest is in "GOFAI" areas like KRR, logic programming, linguistic theory.. not claiming to be an expert, it's just the kind of articles I enjoy reading the most ;)

In fact, to be honest, I'm a bit miffed with so much modern emphasis on machine learning (neural networks and brute-force statistical approaches in general) for a number of reasons. Of course I respect the impressive results they are getting in pattern recognition and classification, but (from my short experience) it feels like a hands-off black box, where you don't have an easy way to change aspects you don't like, or adapt the system to a particular purpose you just came up with and no corpus of actual interactions is available. Anyway, sorry ML enthusiasts, I don't want to create a polemic on my first post, just state my preference!

The Westworld quote in the title describes what would be my dream AI chatbot. It would have the least possible amount of "smoke and mirrors", by which I mean clever tricks that make the bot seem far smarter than it is (I say "the least possible", I know we still need lots of it). Ideally, the bot admin wouldn't have to either write code or train the bot with a massive corpus. Instead, he/she would instruct the bot by telling it facts and rules in some very expressive CNL, and answering questions the bot comes up with.