Hello!

• 4 Replies

InterestedInAI

• Roomba
Hello!
« on: June 17, 2016, 02:13:39 pm »
Hi,
I've always been interested in AI (I did a Computer Science and Cybernetics degree in Reading England). Though now I'm an analyst I have a project I've been working on which has opened up more the philosophy of AI to me and I wanted to find a community to discuss it with.

So just to summarise what I've been working on - there is a measure where I work that looks at how happy people are with the service. Thousands of people every month respond to a text question giving a rating and feedback. I developed procedures to upload the responses into the Data Warehouse, remove special characters, gave associated ratings to the positivity and negativity of words used in the feedback, wrote a fuzzy matching function to group suffixes and misspellings so we could do text analysis and find trends in the feedback to create a "voice" of the services.

Now I’m making a very by assumption here but it occurred to me while I was working on this what's wrong in natural language AI approaches I’ve read up on. It’s that the logic for a developer in solving this is to look at it at the problem at too high a level. We approach it as a philosopher looking at the rules and structures of words and sentences, we build rules to replicate how the brain sees patterns. The way we learn language as babies however, is by association to ourselves. For example as baby we were told we look happy, so we associate the word happy to the emotional and physical feeling (what the muscles in our faces are doing). Language is learnt from how we associate words to ourselves, the emotional response we get from the visual and aural input.

My question is this, is there development in giving AI a sense of identity, a sense of self and then teaching it through it’s association to its surroundings? Or am I completely wrong in my assumptions?

Thanks

8pla.net

• Trusty Member
  • Eve